Penalty Unit

The fine amount for an offence under Queensland State legislation and the laws of local governments is identified as a penalty unit. Queensland's Penalties and Sentences (Penalty Unit Value) Amendment Regulation 2022 defines the dollar value of a penalty unit. This is subject to a yearly review by the State Treasurer.

As of 1 July 2022, the value of a penalty unit is $143.75.

The Penalties and Sentences Regulation 2015 also defines how to calculate the fine amount. The number of penalty units attributed to the offence is multiplied by the value of a penalty unit. The final amount is then rounded down to the nearest whole dollar.

For example:

  • a fine of 1 penalty unit is $143 (rounded down from $143.75)
  • a fine of 2 penalty units is $287 (rounded down from $287.50).
Summary of common fine amounts
Number of Penalty Units Fine Amount
1 penalty unit $143.00
2 penalty units $287.00
4 penalty units $575.00
5 penalty units $718.00
10 penalty units $1,437.00
20 penalty units $2,875.00
30 penalty units $4,312.00
40 penalty units $5,750.00
50 penalty units $7,187.00
75 penalty units $10,781.00

Some councils choose not to increase the penalty unit value for fines related to their local laws and it remains at $75. These councils are listed in Schedule 2 of the Penalties and Sentences Regulation 2015.