Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Find links to the latest information, support and advice on this page. We will continue to update this page to help keep businesses, residents and the community informed.

What is COVID-19?

The COVID-19 virus is a new strain of coronavirus known to cause respiratory infections in humans.

Signs and symptoms

The most common symptoms include:

  • fever
  • a dry cough
  • sore throat
  • fatigue/tiredness
  • shortness of breath.

Other less common symptoms can include aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose or diarrhea. For more information on symptoms, refer to the symptoms of COVID-19 compared with the common cold and flu table

If you are feeling unwell, contact your doctor or call 13 HEALTH (13 43 25 84). You can also use the Healthdirect COVID-19 symptom checker online tool.

Some people who have been infected do not develop or show any symptoms and do not feel unwell.

Who is at risk

Based on what is known about the coronavirus, people most at risk of infection are:

  • people with compromised immune systems (such as people who have cancer)
  • elderly people
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people (as they have higher rates of chronic illness)
  • people with chronic medical conditions
  • people in group residential settings
  • people in detention facilities.

To help stop the spread of the virus and to help protect those most at risk, keep up to date with the recommendations from Queensland Health and the Australian Government Department of Health.

State Government updates and alerts

Queensland Health is the state's lead agency for responding to COVID-19. Keep up to date with:

Other government department updates and alerts

Council help and support

Queensland councils are supporting Queensland Health and the Australian Government in the response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The health and wellbeing of residents, businesses and the community remain a priority.

Stay informed with the latest updates and impacts from your local council. 

South East Queensland councils

Table of South East Queensland councils
Brisbane City Council City of Gold Coast Ipswich City Council Lockyer Valley Regional Council Logan City Council Moreton Bay Regional Council
Noosa Council Redland City Council Scenic Rim Regional Council Somerset Regional Council Sunshine Coast Council Toowoomba Regional Council

Regional Queensland local governments

Table of regional Queensland local governments
Aurukun Shire Council Balonne Shire Council Banana Shire Council Barcaldine Regional Council Barcoo Shire Council Blackall Tambo Regional Council
Boulia Shire Council Bulloo Shire Council Bundaberg Shire Council Burdekin Shire Council Burke Shire Council Cairns Regional Council
Carpentaria Shire Council Cassowary Coast Regional Council Central Highlands Regional Council Charters Towers Regional Council Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council Cloncurry Shire Council
Cook Shire Council Croydon Shire Council Diamantina Shire Council Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council Douglas Shire Council Etheridge Shire Council
Flinders Shire Council Fraser Coast Regional Council Gladstone Regional Council Goondiwindi Regional Council Gympie Regional Council Hinchinbrook Shire Council
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council Isaac Regional Council Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council Livingstone Shire Council Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council Longreach Regional Council
Mackay Regional Council Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council Maranoa Regional Council Mareeba Shire Council McKinlay Shire Council Mornington Shire Council
Mount Isa City Council Murweh Shire Council Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council North Burnett Regional Council Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council
Paroo Shire Council Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council Quilpie Shire Council Richmond Shire Council Rockhampton Regional Council South Burnett Regional Council
Southern Downs Regional Council Tablelands Regional Council Torres Shire Council Torres Strait Island Regional Council Townsville City Council Weipa Town Authority
Western Downs Regional Council Whitsunday Regional Council Winton Shire Council Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council